Open Award: All-University Teaching

The Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost issues a call for nominations each fall. Nominees are considered for all Open Awards for which they are eligible. Please do not specify or nominate separately for each Open award.

This award was formerly defined as the University Seminars Outstanding Teaching Award, which included recognition of outstanding teaching in USEMS. View previous USEMS Award Winners.


Excellence in teaching emphasized; research and service accomplishments also considered.


Full-time faculty appointment at any rank, tenured, tenure-track, or non-tenure-track. Previous winners of an award administered by the Teaching Awards Committee within the last five years are ineligible for an Open Award.

Award Information

$3,000 award for each recipient.
Awards are given for excellent undergraduate, graduate, and/or professional teaching and mentoring of students.

All-University Teaching Award Submission Requirements

2017 Honorees

Timothy Allen, Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Dorothe Bach, Associate Professor Center for Teaching Excellence
Eileen Chou, Assistant Professor of Public Policy
Amanda Cowen, Associate Professor of Management
Robert Cox, Assistant Professor of Biology
Phoebe Crisman, Associate Professor of Architecture
Nancy Deutsch, Associate Professor of Education
Leslie Kendrick, Professor of Law
Frank Warnock, Professor of Business Administration

Previous All-University Teaching Award Recipients