Libraries Committee

Committee Reporting Relationship

The Committee reports to the Executive Vice President and Provost.


The Libraries Committee advises the Executive Vice President and Provost on critical matters affecting the University libraries, including materials, services, facilities and equipment, and space. In addition, it acts as a forum for faculty, student, and administration viewpoints, and discharges other responsibilities as assigned.

Committee Structure

The Committee, appointed by the Executive Vice President and Provost, consists of:

  • 22 at-large faculty/staff members
  • University Librarian and the librarians from the Darden, Health Sciences, and Law libraries (ex-officio members without term)
  • Two at-large student members (TBD)

University Library Committee 2016-2017

Name: Department:
Arnold, Gretchen (gvn8) Health Sciences Library
Braithwaite, Elizabeth Batten
Dobrin, Lise (ld4n) Anthropology
Fiorani, Francesca (ff6f) Assoc. Dean, Humanities and Arts
Fitchett, Taylor (tf2u) Law Library
Elizabeth Fowler English
Gies, David (dtg) Spanish
Goedde, Larry (log) Art
Halliday, Paul (ph4p) History
Hedstrom, Matt (msh6q) Religious Studies
King, Karen (kmr3m) Darden Library
Fiorani, Francesca (ff6f) Assoc. Dean, Humanities and Arts
Macko, Stephen (sam8f) Environmental Sciences
Martin, Worthy (wnm) IATH
May, Julia (jsm9z) SCPS
Miller, John (jfm4j) Classics
Neeley, Kathryn (kan8 ) STS
Plunkett, Ann Marie (amp8) SCPS
Portmann, John (jep7a) Religious Studies
Sherman, Bill (whs2b) Architecture
Slawson, David (dcs6e) SOM
Tucker, Chip (ht2t)
(away fall 2017 term)
Unsworth, John University Library
Vaidhyanathan, Siva (sv2r) Media Studies
Wellmon, Chad (mcw9d) Germanic Languages
White, Mark (maw3u) Commerce
Wyckoff, James (jhw4n) Curry School
Hurst, Ashley (arh7kz) SON
TBD Darden

Student Members:

  • TBD


  • Gretchen N. Arnold (Claude Moore Health Sciences Library)
  • C. Taylor Fitchett (Law Library)
  • Karen M. King (Darden Library)
  • John Unsworth (Dean of Libraries)