Committee on Benefits

Committee Reporting Relationship

The Committee reports to the Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer.


The Committee on Benefits serves in an advisory capacity to the Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer in matters related to benefits policies and programs for faculty and staff. The Committee studies and makes recommendations regarding benefits policies and programs and proposes an order of priority for any suggested changes. These recommendations will advance institutional and not constituent priorities.

Committee Structure

The Committee, appointed by the Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer, consists of four University employees from each of the following groups:

  • Instructional Faculty
  • General Faculty
  • Staff
  • Health Care Professionals

The following serve as ex-officio members without term:

  • Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer
  • Associate Chief of Human Resources (Health System)
  • Director of Faculty and Staff Benefits (Human Resources)
  • Medical Center Program Manager (Health System)
  • UVA Health Plan Ombudsman
  • Representatives from:
    • Office of Executive Vice President and Provost
    • UVA Health Services Foundation


Membership as of September 30, 2014

Barbara A. Millar, Chair
Vicki Annabel
Garth T. Anderson
William T. Corey
Sarah M. Corse
Teresa B. Culver
Margaret "Peggy" M. Dame
Josh L. Fitzpatrick
Tabitha M. Lillard
Pamela A. MacIntyre
Mark C. Pulczinski
Rafael Saenz
Herman M. Schwartz
Rebecca White
Thomas R. White


John W. Boswell (Chief Human Resources Officer- Health System)
Anne D. Broccoli, Executive Secretary (Director, Faculty and Staff Benefits - Human Resources)
Susan Carkeek (Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer)
Margaret P. Harden (Associate Vice Provost)
Joanne R. Hayden (UVA Health Plan Ombudsman)
Christine A. Rudge (Director, Human Resources and Physician Recruiting)
Patricia Van Hook (Medial Center Program Manager - Health System)