Thomas Jefferson Awards Committee

Committee Reporting Relationship

The Committee reports to the Executive Vice President and Provost.


The Thomas Jefferson Awards Committee solicits nominations and select a recipient for each of the two awards: one sponsored since 1955 by the Robert Earll McConnell Foundation and intended to recognize excellence in service to the University, and the second established in 2009 by the Alumni Board of Trustees of the University of Virginia Endowment Fund, Inc., to recognize excellence in scholarship. Members of the faculty* who have exemplified in character, work, and influence the principles and ideals of Thomas Jefferson, and thus have advanced the objectives for which Jefferson founded the University, are candidates for these awards. Recipients must have served on the faculty* for 15 or more years. Retired faculty* members are not eligible. These awards, consisting of a citation and cash prize, are presented by the president at Fall Convocation.

* Includes University Staff - Executive & Senior Administrative (E&SA)

Committee Structure

The selection committee for the Thomas Jefferson Awards, appointed by the Executive Vice President and Provost, consists of:


Membership as of September 11, 2014

Karen C. Johnston, Chair
Catherine P. Bradshaw
Gregory B. Fairchild
Alexander G. Gilliam, Jr.
Allen W. Groves
John C. Jeffries
Rachel Most
Mark Thomas
Stephen G. Wilson

Student Members:

Margaret (Meg) N. Gould (Board of Visitors Student Member)
Jalen J. B. Ross (Student Council President)

  • Eight at-large faculty members
  • Student Council President
  • Student member of the Board of Visitors

Visit the Thomas Jefferson Awards page to view a list of past recipients (from 1955 to present).