Committee on Public Art

Committee Reporting Relationship

The Committee reports to the Executive Vice President and Provost.


The Committee on Public Art advises the Executive Vice President and Provost on issues related to the acquisition and placement of works of art in public spaces outside the curated collections of the University. The Committee's jurisdiction covers all exterior areas of the University Grounds. In carrying out its charge, the Committee is responsible for:

  • Promoting the acquisition of high quality public art and its standard of care on the University Grounds
  • Establishing a clear set of procedures and criteria for art on the University grounds, guiding the purchase of works, the commissioning of new work, and the acceptance of donated works
  • Meeting when called by the Committee Chair to review proposed art according to established criteria
  • Developing a program to solicit public comment and participation in determining the appropriate site for acquired works
  • Providing a written report to the Executive Vice President and Provost summarizing the Committee's conclusions on any proposed acquisition and its site selection

* Statuary and historic fragments are not considered public art; they are the responsibility of the University's Historic Preservation staff.

Committee Structure

The Committee, appointed by the Executive Vice President and Provost, consists of the following ten members by virtue of their position:

  • Architect for the University
  • Chair, Arboretum and Landscape Committee
  • Chair, Art Department
  • Dean, School of Architecture
  • Dean of Students
  • Director of Community Relations
  • Representative of the President's Office
  • Representative of the Studio Art Program
  • Representative of the Vice President and CEO of the Health System
  • University Landscape Architect

The remaining members of the committee include:

  • Four at-large faculty/staff members