Graduate Policy Committee


The Graduate Policy Committee serves in an advisory capacity to the provost’s office to study, formulate, and recommend policies and procedures concerning matters affecting the graduate and professional student academic environment.

Committee Structure

The committee is comprised of representatives from the graduate and professional schools, central administrative offices, and student representatives of the Graduate and Professional Council.


(as of August 2022)

  • Matt Banfield, Chair (Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost)
  • Kiama Anthony Bishop (Office of the University Registrar)
  • Jeffrey Blume (School of Data Science)
  • Catherine Brighton (School of Education and Human Development)
  • Anselmo Canfora (School of Architecture)
  • Janet Cross (School of Medicine)
  • Jasmine Crenshaw (Office of Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs)
  • Amanda Crombie (Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy)
  • Laura Hawthorne (Office of the University Registrar)
  • Diddy Morris (School of Law)
  • Abby Self (School of Nursing)
  • China Scherz (Graduate School of Arts and Sciences)
  • Jim Smith (School of Engineering and Applied Science)
  • Phil Trella (Office of Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs)
  • Ed Warwick (Darden Graduate School of Business)

  • Amelia Bruce, Graduate Student Representative
  • Johnson Ung, Graduate Student Representative