Libraries Committee

Committee Reporting Relationship

The Committee reports to the Executive Vice President and Provost.


The Libraries Committee advises the Executive Vice President and Provost on critical matters affecting the University libraries, including materials, services, facilities and equipment, and space. In addition, it acts as a forum for faculty, student, and administration viewpoints, and discharges other responsibilities as assigned.

Committee Structure

The Committee, appointed by the Executive Vice President and Provost, consists of:

  • 21 at-large faculty/staff members
  • University Librarian and the librarians from the Darden, Health Sciences, and Law libraries (ex-officio members without term)
  • Two at-large student members

University Library Committee 2020-21

  • John Portmann, Chair (Department of Religious Studies)
  • Luca Cian (Darden School of Business)
  • George Cohen (School of Law)
  • Emily Ogden (English)
  • Ed Murphy (Astronomy)
  • Nana Last (School of Architecture)
  • Jason Papin (Biomedical Engineering)
  • Elizabeth Friberg (School of Nursing)
  • Geoff Geise (Department of Chemical Engineering)
  • Murad Idris (Department of Politics)
  • Baoxing Xu (Mech/Aero Engineering
  • Donna Chen (Public Health Sciences)
  • Filip Loncke (School of Education and Human Development)
  • Julia May (School of Continuing & Professional Studies) 
  • Ben Martin (Hospital Medicine)
  • Ryan Nelson (McIntire School of Commerce)
  • Andrew Parsons (Division of Hospital Medicine)
  • Andrew "Andy" Pennock (Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy)
  • Brian Wright (School of Data Science)

Student Members:

  • Katherine Churchill (GESA Bowers Library Committee Chair)
  • Avneet Chhabra (Student Council - Undergraduate)


  • Tom Marini (Darden Library)
  • Bart Ragon (Health Sciences Library)
  • Judy Thomas (Director of Faculty Programs)
  • John Unsworth (University Library)
  • Amy Wharton (Law Library)