Thomas Jefferson Awards Committee

Committee Reporting Relationship

The Committee reports to the Executive Vice President and Provost.


The Thomas Jefferson Awards Committee solicits nominations and selects a recipient for each of the two awards, the highest honors given to members of the University.  The awards are given to members of the University community who have exemplified in character, work and influence the principles and ideals of Jefferson, and thus advanced the objectives for which he founded the University.  The first award, sponsored since 1955 by the Robert Earll McConnell Foundation, recognizes excellence in service to the University. Established in 2009 by the Alumni Board of Trustees of the University of Virginia Endowment Fund, Inc., the second award recognizes excellence in scholarship. Recipients must have been employed by the University for at least 15 years in a full-time capacity.  Current employees and those who have retired within the last 12 months are eligible.  Each award consists of a citation and cash prize.

Committee Structure

The selection committee for the Thomas Jefferson Awards, appointed by the Executive Vice President and Provost, consists of:


Membership as of December 2021

  • Maïté Brandt-Pearce, Chair 
  • Kenneth S. Abraham
  • William J. Brady, M.D. 
  • James E. Burroughs
  • Julie I. Carrucio
  • Emily Drake, PhD, RN, CNL, FAAN
  • William S. Epling
  • Alexander G. Gilliam 
  • Luann Lynch
  • Christine Mahoney
  • Rachel Most
  • Peter D. Waldman
  • Joanna Lee Williams 

Student Members

  • Abel Liu, Student Council President
  • Sarita Mehta, Board of Visitors Student Representative

Ex officio

  • Pamela W. Higgins

Visit the Thomas Jefferson Awards page to view a list of past recipients (from 1955 to present) or to submit nominations.