Advising Communications Committee

The Advising Task Force recommended that the University develop better ways of sharing information with students through both enhanced technology and engagement with peers. Throughout the 2022-23 academic year, the Advising Communications Committee dove deeper into these recommendations, setting priorities and developing action plans.

In fall 2023, we are launching a new “front door” website to help students navigate the plethora of resources that UVA offers, along with a streamlined academic advising website. At the same time, the University is expanding the reach of the UVACHAT chatbot that already helps students find answers to their questions about housing and student financial services. The University is reviewing its communications with students on an ongoing basis and will continue to enhance and improve these, coordinating the communications from units across Grounds to ensure that students receive timely and consistent information.

Executive Sponsors

  • Brie Gertler, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
  • Robyn S. Hadley, Vice President and Dean of Students, Chief Student Affairs Officer


  • Matt Banfield, Assistant Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost
  • Alex Hall, Associate Dean of Students, Office of the Vice President and Chief Student Affairs Officer, Dean of Students

Project Managers

  • Shelly Lovelace, Provost’s Office
  • Alex Rebhorn, Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service
  • Jessica Strang, Director of Technology, Office of the Vice President and Chief Student Affairs Officer, Dean of Students


  • Sally Armentrout, McIntire School of Commerce
  • Nadia Cempre, School of Education & Human Development
  • Lynn Corbett, School of Nursing
  • Katie Densberger, Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost
  • Chris Doran, Student Financial Services
  • Kristen Gleason, Housing and Residence Life
  • Dahlia Hylton, School of Data Science
  • Dreama Johnson, UVA Career Center
  • Christopher Joseph, Undergraduate Representative
  • Jeannine Lalonde, Office of Admission
  • Kristine Nelson, Frank Batten School of Leadership & Public Policy
  • Elizabeth Ozment, College and Graduate School of Arts & Sciences
  • Heather Palmer, School of Engineering & Applied Science
  • Robert Sean Reed, University Registrar
  • Holly Sims, Undergraduate Representative
  • Tashana Starks, School of Architecture